Saying Yes, Spero meliora

Being an introvert, with some degree of social anxiety, means saying yes to things can sometimes be difficult. I’ve gotten better recently, but I used to say no to everything. Partly out of fear of failure, low self confidence or simply wanting to be alone, but I’m working on it. And to me, the only way to work on it (that seems logical) is to start grabbing life by the horns and taking people up on opportunists that come my way. For the sheer balls tingle of it, in the words of Leena Normington.

I want to work in musical theatre, and if you’ve ever spoken to me for even a minute, I’m sure you’ll know that… But for the past year I’ve felt somewhat overshadowed by friends, and not good enough at theatre because of this. I know, I know, it’s a vicious circle, but I’m working on it. I’d been looking at this Audition for a while, it’s Shakespeare to be performed in January, Abington manor (pictured below). Shakespeare’s granddaughter lived and died here, being a history buff this is basically my dream. I phoned the guy up, booked my audition, and it’s actually on my birthday! Whatever may come of it, it will certainly be a great experience.

A) I love Shakespeare, and B) it’s like a 30 minute walk from my house. Perfect!

NMG_location_image_2

Secondly, I was asked if I would be interested in attending a summer school in Buckingham. It’s to study Les Miserables (my all time favourite musical) for 7 days, and then put on a performance on a west end stage on the final night! HOW AMAZING! I truly, truly hope for a bit of good luck and fortune. I sent off my application today, and we can only hope! Its so beautiful…

summerskl

summerskl2

I know I haven’t even fully secured these things yet, but I’m happy that I am trying. I recently searched my family coat of arms, and the “battle cry” that came along with mine was ‘Spero meliora.’ From what I can gather, it means “I hope for better things”/”I aspire for better things.” Which, to me, is nothing short of true. I’m excited, hopeful and ultimately taking the plunge by just saying Yes.

Holly

Leave a Reply

